A journal of new information received at CTC

The Amazon Kindle

KindleI’ll own up – I like gadgets. However, when I go touring they can be a pain because most require power. And although I posted something about re-charging systems (General Stuff – Charging Electronic Gadgets on the Move) I’d always prefer not having to bother. I use a small Nokia mobile whose battery lasts for ever and that’s normally about it. This may now change: glancing through a recent ‘Two Travelling’ newsletter I came across his recommendation for the Kindle http://travellingtwo.com/resources/kindle-bike-touring 

I forsee quite a lot of solo cycle touring and so carrying sufficient reading material will be important. According to the blurb, the Kindle’s battery lasts for a very long time and that’s just one of the benefits of this great little device. I’m also hoping it will prove easier to read at night when I’m tucked up in my sleeping bag. I’m finding that, even with glasses on, reading by the light of my head torch is proving difficult. Although I’ll need to check this out first, I’m hoping that the Kindle will make it easier for me to enjoy my reading. Here’s hoping!

Incidentally Two Travelling really is a great website ~ there’s so much good stuff on it!

5 responses

  1. Thanks for the link, and glad you liked the review. About a month later, and we’re still in love with our Kindle. We’ve brought it on a 2-week holiday in Canada (visiting family) and we just left the charger at home. That was a great feeling – not many gadgets you can do that with!

    07/06/2011 at 11:12 am

    • Just gotta save up a few pennies and buy one myself! Thanks for your comment.

      07/06/2011 at 4:58 pm

  2. I don’t think it is much good if light is a problem, though. Kindle doesn’t have a backlit screen or lighting. It requires artificial illumination.

    14/06/2011 at 1:42 pm

    • Thanks for your comment which is useful. Will definitely need to check it out before buying now!

      14/06/2011 at 3:47 pm

  3. Frank

    just cycled down the danube with the papers every morning being read to me by the kindle, nice for the first hour to wake up too.

    07/07/2011 at 10:54 pm

Leave a Reply

